Blogging and spiritual disciplines

Surfing the web this morning, I came across a blog called The Spyglass, where Rob asks “In what ways can you use blogging as a spiritual discipline?” As I was already thinking about blogging and at least one particular spiritual discipline (which is how The Spyglass popped up in my search results), I decided it was a good question to spend some time thinking about.

I don’t think I could quite say I see blogging as a spiritual discipline, but it certainly offers opportunities to practice certain spiritual disciplines – and opportunities of temptation that must be avoided lest I neglect other spiritual disciplines. I can think of more ways to answer this question than I have time to write up tonight – and one tempation I need to avoid is staying up too late blogging, neglecting sleep, time with my sons, and time with God.

I started this blog in part to improve my focus on study. I like being a student, whether in a formal educational program or informally studying on my own. But I had noticed that the time I spent reading (anything except blogs) had decreased, and while crossword puzzles are a good workout for my brain, they teach me little except words that are useful for solving crossword puzzles. By having the self-imposed goal of posting once a day, I push myself to learn – or at least think about – something new each day.

Richard Foster, in his book Celebration of Discipline, teaches that it is important to study not only Scripture and classics of Christian literature but also to observe “reality in things, events, and actions.” I have always enjoyed observing nature, but I have never been as good at observing human beings (largely because I am an introvert and find it tiring to be among lots of people, but energizing to be alone surrounded by grass, trees, and sky). I have never taken a great interest in following the news either, whether in print or broadcast form. I try not to be ignorant of major events (though I have to admit I rather prided myself on being ignorant of nearly all that went on in O.J. Simpson’s trial), but I have never understood the compulsion of the news junkie to watch the evening news.

Blogging gives me that little push to find out more about the world, about how people think and feel about things, to check the day’s news, to read books about topics of importance – as well as reading and studying Scripture. I want to find something of interest to me each day, something that I hope will also be of interest to at least some of you who read this. And any interaction with you helps me learn more about how others see things, and perhaps how to communicate better.

Besides posting here, I have for a few years regularly read – and occasionally commented on – World on the Web (previously worldmagblog). As it gets a lot more traffic and some very heated arguments, I get to observe a lot of interaction between people. Some responses are predictable. Others surprise me. I see examples I want to follow – and those I want to avoid.

One spiritual discipline that WoW provides lots of opportunities to practice is silence. Richard Foster writes: “One of the fruits of silence is the freedom to let God be our justifier. We don’t need to straighten others out.” If I think I have been misunderstood, I may try to clarify what I meant. But I find that a prolonged attempt to show how my argument is correct is generally fruitless, and promotes defensiveness, self-justification, and pride more than compassion for the person I am arguing with. (My rule is to avoid the word “you” as much as possible, as it usually is connected with making unwarranted assumptions about someone else.)

To be continued…

3 Responses to Blogging and spiritual disciplines

  1. I’m glad you found my post at least a little bit helpful. That one doesn’t seem to have caught with a lot of folks, but it has for me, anyway, so I still think there’s something to it; always glad to be used to spark something. I appreciate your thoughts on this, and I look forward to seeing what else you have to say. (I’ll also have to spend a little time exploring your blog a bit.)

    Also, as regards tagging folks, it’s not platform-specific by any means; just pick folks to tag, announce that you’ve tagged them, and leave a comment on their blogs telling them so (and linking back to your post[s] and the original post). You don’t have to, certainly, but it can be a good way to spark further discussion.

    Grace and peace,

    Rob Harrison

  2. renaissanceguy says:

    Very interesting and right up my alley. I have thought about such issues and continue to think about them.

    I think you are definitely on the right track so far, and I can’t wait to read more.

    Yes, I have been led to practice the discipline of silence through my participation in blogs.

    Foster’s book is great by the way. I am currently teaching some Sunday school lessons based on it.

  3. Mel Decker says:

    I found your blog very interesting and uplifting. Since I’ve started staying home more rather then leaving it for work on the road I am beginning to do some blogging and am discovering what potential there is in making a valid point!
    While I was reading the Bible one day a thought occurred to me about the centurion found in Matthew 8th chapter verses 8-10. This man and his faith stood out to Jesus.
    Now the healing was done from Capernaum by Jesus. The centurion and his household were located elsewhere.
    Go with me now to the 27th chapter of Matthew verses 51-54. After reading these verses my question is With all the Sadducee’s and other prominent Jews witnessing what was going down. The only person bold enough to make a statement about it was a gentile centurion. What are the odds that this centurion had already experienced and received the healing he asked this man for? Already being convinced by Jesus’s healing power and witnessing what was going on at the moment he could not keep his mouth shut.
    Remember he was a soldier and public executions were part of his work. Regardless of his personal views he had to follow orders. But he didn‘t have to keep silent about it!.
    THANK YOU, MEL

Leave a comment