Unintended humor

When walking in the park in Reno on Wednesday afternoon (see previous post), I mostly took pictures of nature. But there were a few signs I saw as I walked around the park that I just had to take a picture of. The first one was a warning that the ice is unsafe. Considering that the temperature at the moment was 78 degrees, it certainly was not safe for ice skating. I’m sure in the winter the sign is more relevant, but it seems to me that having a sign like that year-round just gets people used to ignoring it.

The next sign was about sharing the path. At the moment there did not happen to be any runners, dog-walkers, or wheelchairs in the area. But I was not the only walker – there were two geese there too, and they seem to have been completely ignored by whoever designed the sign. No doubt it was intended for the asphalt path, not the dirt path, and probably the geese prefer the dirt path. But considering the large number of geese in the park, I really thought they should have been included.

My favorite was the detour sign. I have no idea why this group of ducks felt a need to exit the park and venture into the streets. But they clearly were following the arrow on the sign, heading out to see where it led them.

One Response to Unintended humor

  1. Kizzie says:

    Yes, include the geese! 🙂

    The ducks crossing the street at the detour sign is hilarious!

Leave a comment