Cheesecake: what is it?

I have written few block posts in recent months except about books I have written, but the article I read today about cheesecake just seemed worth sharing. Maybe it’s because I am fascinated by words and their meanings. Or maybe it’s because my family loves cheesecake.

Cheesecake, despite its name, has little in common with cake except being a dessert generally served in wedges or block shapes. But if it’s not a cake, what is it? This article from Atlas Obscura (one of my favorite sources of information about unusual places and things) explores the history and nature of cheesecake as it pursues an answer to this question.

Leave a Reply

