Books to read in 2015

Someone on another blog has a plan for reading 26 books in 2015, and I decided I liked the idea and I’m going to plan to do it also. It’s not that I won’t read at least 26 books without such a plan, or that I won’t read books that would easily fit on this list in any case. I could probably identify books I read in 2014 that fit at least half the categories in this list.

But sometimes I’m not sure what I want to read next, and having a plan like this can help me decide. Sooner or later, it’s bound to get me reading something I wouldn’t have read otherwise. And maybe getting through a few of the books in my stacks of going-to-read and going-to-finish-reading.

So here’s the list. Not book titles, or even genres, but books with various characteristics.

  1. A book you own but haven’t read
  2. A book that was made into a movie
  3. A book you pick solely because of the cover
  4. A book your friend loves
  5. A book published this year
  6. A book by an author you’ve never read before
  7. A book by an author you love
  8. A book at the bottom of your “to be read” pile
  9. A book with a color in the title
  10. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit
  11. A book you started but never finished
  12. A book with a lion. Or a witch. Or a wardrobe
  13. A book with a female heroine
  14. A book set in the summer
  15. A book of poems
  16. A book you learned about because of this challenge
  17. A book that will make you smarter
  18. A book with a blue cover
  19. A book you were supposed to read in school. But didn’t
  20. A book “everyone” but you has read
  21. A book with a great first line
  22. A book with pictures
  23. A book from the library
  24. A book you loved … read it again!
  25. A book that is more than 10 years old
  26. A book based on a true story

Some of these categories could be somewhat of a challenge. I like some poems, and I have at least two books of poems, but I only pick and choose the poems that interest me to read. And I can’t think of any book I was ever assigned in school that I didn’t read. Maybe I can substitute a book that is commonly assigned in school but was not in any of my classes, like Anne Frank.

To do #16, I’ll have to check out the other blogger’s facebook page to find out what other people who have also decided to accept this challenge are reading. As for#17, I question whether reading any book can make one smarter — unless by “smarter” one means “more knowledgeable,” which really is not the same thing.

If I counted books I’m in the middle of reading already, I could check off some already. Les Misérables has been made into a movie, it is from the library, and it is a lot more than ten years old. The copy I’m reading even has some illustrations, though I doubt that’s what “a book with pictures” has in mind.

But I was already most of the way through when 2015 started, so I’m not going to count it. (Or Ken Follett’s World without End, which I’ve owned for years but never started reading until last month.) I’m guessing that at my book club meeting tomorrow we’ll get a book for next month that fits something on this list (besides #23). Most likely #6 – I don’t think any of the books we’ve read for book club have been by authors I had read before. Most of them I’ve never even heard of before.

Unlike the blogger who provided the list, however, I don’t plan to go through the list in order. I may have OCD tendencies, but not when it comes to lists. I’ll probably just start reading books for the reasons I usually do, and then figure out which item in the list I can check off for each one. Then when I don’t know what to read, I’ll see what’s left. Or when I’m at least halfway through the list and need to find books meeting categories that I wouldn’t otherwise read. Like a book of poems. Or one published this year, which this early in January might still be a non-existent category.

Some of you occasionally have suggested books you think I would enjoy, based on what you know of my interests from reading this blog. So feel free to give me ideas. And unless you’re someone I don’t know, if you suggest a book you love I can probably count it for #4!

Leave a Reply

