Just my type?

As a fan of the Harry Potter books (and movies), when I saw this on facebook I was naturally curious to see which character in the series has the same Myers-Briggs personality type as I do. I was not exactly thrilled to see that – at least according to whoever put the chart together – I share the ISTJ type with Severus Snape.

OK, so the description matches: “… Somewhat reserved and prefer to work alone … Deeply value traditions and loyalty and often put duty before pleasure.” Yes, that sounds like me. But … Snape?

My husband, an EFNJ (yes, opposites do attract), is more like Dumbledore, “the Teacher.” I have always admired Teachers (who often are in fact teachers), and wanted to be like them. I’m sure that’s why I became a Spanish teacher. I suppose there are ISTJ teachers who are much more approachable than Snape. But I decided that my ISTJ personality belonged to a computer room more than a classroom.

I discovered that people have tried to identify the Myers-Briggs personality type of a lot of characters in books and movies. This article only identifies one book for each type. I apparently share the ISTJ type with Inspector Javert in Les Misérables; not exactly the most favorable comparison either.

So I found this page, which identifies a great many characters for each type. It also lists Inspector Javert, as well as Spock from Star Trek, Agent K from Men in Black, Susan Calvin from Isaac Asimov’s I, Robot, and a lot of characters I’ve never heard of. I don’t know how accurate the identifications are, though – Hermione Granger is listed here as ISTJ, while the chart I looked at first classed her as INTP. This page doesn’t list her there, but it does have Agent K in that category as well as in ISTJ. Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

