Back to school?

For a few weeks, I have been pondering the Plinky Prompt from August 1:

If you could take a break from your life and go back to school to master a subject, what would it be?

My first thought was that this would be easy to answer. I’ve always enjoyed being a student, and when I was young I wished I could be a student as my “career.” I was good at being a student and I enjoyed it. No doubt that was part of my interest in being a college professor.

As an adult I realize that part of the appeal of being a student was that I knew exactly what was expected of me. There were no difficult decisions to make, and the goals were (usually) clearly defined. Plus I got prompt feedback on how I was doing, and it was almost always that I was doing great.

But it’s also true that I enjoyed learning for its own sake. Some subjects were more fun than others, and some teachers certainly inspired me more than others. But I loved – and still love – reading books that make me think, learning about different cultures, finding out how and why things work the way they do, and the sense of accomplishment from solving a difficult problems.

Of course, some of the appeal of learning when I was younger was it had a practical purpose. Taking certain classes would help me get into a good college. Once I was in college, taking courses in my major (first Bible, later Spanish) would enable me to do what I thought God had called me to do with my life (as a missionary when I was a Bible major, then as a Spanish teacher).

When I was in Spain, everything I did, both in the classroom and elsewhere, helped me gain a greater understand of the language and culture, which would make me a better teacher. And dealing with whatever challenges I faced outside the classroom helped me grow as a person, which would also be important to me as a teacher.

After a while, though, I have to admit that I got tired of sitting in the classroom listening to lectures. I had a professor who was one of the world’s experts on Miguel Cervantes and his masterpiece Don Quixote. Learning about certain subtle shades of meaning in the novel was somewhat interesting, but I was eager to move on to actually doing something worthwhile, not just thinking about it.

I never did become a college professor, though, because I tried teaching at the high school level first (so that when I taught future high school Spanish teachers I would know what it would be like), and that was a disaster. I probably am temperamentally suited much more to teaching college than high school, but at the end of that year I was too demoralized to do any kind of teaching for a long time.

I went back to school later, for practical reasons, first to study computer programming, then business administration. After getting my MBA while working full-time and taking care of a young child (while my husband was in seminary and working part-time and serving as an intern at a church), I decided I would enjoy a break from the rigors of studying.

I hadn’t expected it to be this long a break, however. In the last fifteen years, the only classes I have taken have been work-related training classes (facilitator training, communication skills, network administration) and one online class on object-oriented programming. I’ve read a lot, and no doubt learned quite a bit, but I have not been challenged intellectually in the way I would be in a college classroom.

The Plinky prompt is purely hypothetical. I certainly can’t take a break from my life and go back to school to master a subject. But it’s interesting to speculate on what I would want to study if I could.

So many possibilities!

I’ve always enjoyed learning languages, so I’m sure I would enjoy learning another one, though I’m not sure which I would choose. Would “taking a break from my life” include the opportunity to travel to another country to learn the language by using it on a daily basis? And would I be able to keep using it later, to retain my knowledge of the language?

I’ve wished sometimes I had the knowledge required to evaluate the competing claims of evolution, creation, and intelligent design. It’s easy to find materials supporting one view and critiquing another, but hard to find anything that lists the strengths and weaknesses of each without taking a side. If I had enough in-depth understanding of the subject, perhaps I could create that resource. But do I really have the interest to study the different sciences involved to the depth required for such analysis?

I’ve been thinking recently that I need to read more of the classics of Western thought – not just literature but philosophy, history, etc. I consider myself pretty well-educated, but it embarrasses me how few of the Great Books we have in a bookshelf at home I have actually read. I have always thought there is value in such study, but as an adult I have focused mostly on more “practical” kinds of learning. A formal program of study would provide the structure and discipline to not just do the reading but participate in discussions and write papers, to more fully explore the ideas that have shaped our civilization. But how long of a break from life would it require to truly “master” that subject?

I’d love to develop a skill that would allow me to produce beautiful objects either to display or sell. I’ve always enjoyed arts and crafts and I’m pretty good at it, though I don’t seem to have much of the “artist’s eye” to create my own designs. I like painting ceramic or plaster figurines (I painted my own Nativity scene because I couldn’t find one I liked in the store – at least not at a price I could afford). It would be nice to be able to create my own figures rather than depending on what I can find to buy, as well as learning techniques for painting them to get the desired effect.

I’ve always enjoyed writing, and for years I’ve played around with ideas for a novel, occasionally writing small pieces of chapters. I don’t know that I’ll ever get it written, not only due to the commitment of time required but also because I don’t know that I can create convincing characters and plot. Perhaps classes on writing would help in both those areas. Of course, it would also require showing my work to others. There have always been people who have told me I write well, but I suspect the constructive criticism I would get in a writing class would be far less ego-boosting.

If I think in terms of career, perhaps it would make sense to become a really good programmer. I can do programming in procedural languages, but I struggle with the object-oriented model, and I know little of database design or graphics. I’ve tried to teach myself a little using tutorials I have found online, but as with learning a foreign language, it requires a lot of time and practice. My son would like it if I could program a computer game and he could provide the ideas. But I have trouble getting interested in the kind of computer games he enjoys playing.

Then there’s theology. When my husband was in seminary, I loved using his seminary library card to get out books for myself, as well as reading books from some of the classes he was taking. If we lived near a seminary, I’m sure I would want to take some classes. On a few occasions, I have preached in my husband’s place (at his invitation), and after one service in Michigan, people asked me if I had considered going to seminary to become a pastor. To become a pastor, no – I do not have any sense of call, and my years as a fundamentalist Baptist make it difficult to shed lingering doubts about whether it is appropriate for women to lead churches. But going to seminary – yes, I have thought of that many times, and there are topics I would love to study more in-depth, especially as it relates to how different church traditions interpret certain areas of theology. But could one ever truly be said to “master” a subject as deep and broad as this one?

The fact is, I can’t come up with a particular subject I especially want to master. I like learning, but I like learning about all kinds of things rather than becoming an expert in one thing. I think one reason I enjoyed studying Spanish so much was that I wasn’t studying just one thing. I was learning the language, of course, but also literature and history and culture. When we got so in-depth with Don Quixote was when I started losing interest. I was a good student. But I couldn’t see the point in being that much an expert on one thing.

It’s not that I think learning is valuable only when it is useful, or when enough people care about it. That professor must have really cared about Miguel Cervantes and Don Quixote. I admire expertise and the people who take the time and effort to develop it. But I just can’t think of a subject that I really REALLY want to become an expert in.

And since I don’t expect to be able to take a break from life to go back to school, it’s not a question I have to answer. I’m just sort of surprised to find that I can’t.

One Response to Back to school?

  1. modestypress says:

    Well I flunked a long time ago. I look forward to enjoying hell, as much as it can be relished.

Leave a Reply

