Bird in my garden

my pix 048I don’t have a telephoto lens on my camera, and birds rarely sit still as I approach. So I rarely have a close-up like this. But for whatever reason, this bird just sat there above my garden this morning, long enough for me to walk the dog and come back and fetch my camera.

So now that I have the picture, I’m wondering – what kind of bird is it? I tried whatbird.com but didn’t figure it out. Of course, I know the male and female often differ in appearance, and I have no idea whether this is a male or female.

3 Responses to Bird in my garden

    • Pauline says:

      Thanks, AJ! My first thought was robin, but I didn’t know what to make of all the black speckles on the breast. I guess I don’t often see fledglings, though they must be around (considering all the birds and nests nearby).

      • the real Aj says:

        You’re welcome.🙂

        I only know because we get tons of robin’s around here, so I see a bunch of the fledglings when they leave their nests. I think they look better than the adults because they have extra colors.

Leave a Reply

