Test your typing

I was filling out an online job application, and one question asked for my typing speed. I was sure it was over 40 wpm, but thought it would be nice if I could find some kind of typing test to get an accurate number. I quickly found one on the internet, which has the great advantage of not only being easy to use but actually fun because the text you have to type is actually interesting.

I mean, wouldn’t you get a smile on your face as you found yourself typing out this sentence?

Basically, a tool is an object that enables you
to take advantage of the laws 
of physics and mechanics
in such a way that you can seriously injure yourself.

Not every test (I’ve tried five so far, I don’t know how many there are in all) is equally humorous, but they beat some of the dull text I’ve copied in typing tests before.

Check it out here: http://www.learn2type.com/typingtest/typingtest.cfm. I don’t know whether I type any better when I’m smiling (the humor is subtle enough so I don’t have to worry about laughing too much to keep my speed up), but so far my best score was a surprising (to me) 70 wpm.

Leave a Reply

