Happy National Chocolate Chip Day!

In case you didn’t already know, today is National Chocolate Chip Day. (According to the National Confectioners Association, both May 15 and August 4 have that distinction. It’s a good enough cause to celebrate twice a year, right?)

In honor of this important holiday, I bought Eggo chocolate chip waffles for my family for breakfast, and chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream for dessert this evening. For myself, I have my usual afternoon snack of Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips and some nuts (today I have walnuts and pecans, because I ran out of almonds).

If you want something different from the usual chocolate chip recipes, there are lots of ways to vary things. There’s always M&M’s, various kinds of nuts, and peanut butter.¬†Sometimes I buy mint chocolate chips or raspberry chocolate chips, but if I don’t have those on hand I can always add mint extract to the cookie batter, or mix in some frozen raspberries. I haven’t tried adding dried cherries, but it sounds like it would taste good.

Now, if you want something really different, check out this page. (Note: it takes a while to load.) Personally I don’t care for the chocolate/bacon combination (I haven’t made my own, but I’ve tasted such products from a gourmet bakery). I don’t think I’d mind the dried crickets, but I’m not going to go buy any. (Not that I have any idea where I’d go to buy them.) I’ve heard of adding chocolate to chili, or chili pepper to chocolate cake, but I haven’t tried them – either as cook or consumer.

If you have any great chocolate chip ideas, please share! I probably won’t try them today – but there’s always August 4.

4 Responses to Happy National Chocolate Chip Day!

  1. Peter L says:

    Yum! Chocolate!

    (You really need to check into why I cannot use my WordPress account on here.)

    • Pauline says:

      What happens when you try to use it? Does it not let you leave the comment or does the comment just not show up? I don’t see any stuck in the spam list, but I didn’t go back very far.

      • Peter L says:

        Pauline, it tells me that there is already someone with that user name logged in. This message: “(email address) belongs to an account you are not currently logged into.” So when I enter my password I get “ERROR: Invalid email or username.” I have even logged out and tried logging back in, but get that message. So I use a different email address for these posts.

      • Pauline says:

        Apparently WordPress made a change to the commenting feature back in March, to prevent people from leaving comments using someone else’s email address. They fixed some bugs with it, but apparently not all. Unfortunately, they also apparently have such a high volume of support requests to deal with, that they temporarily (they say) discontinued support for people like me who haven’t paid for any upgrades to my account.
        I’d noticed I hadn’t gotten hardly any comments in a while. I wonder if this is why.

Leave a Reply

