Don’t mess with this Alaskan woman

I don’t know what I’d do if I thought my dog was threatened by a moose. (Besides wonder how a moose got loose in eastern Iowa.) I don’t think I’d probably be going after it with a shovel.

But it’s a good thing that’s what Dorothea Taylor did, because it turned out it was her husband who was being stomped on by the moose. After a few whacks from the shovel, the moose decided this petite woman wasn’t someone to mess with, and went on his way.

I’ve already read that the sort of people who choose to live in Alaska are strong, independent, resourceful types. This story certainly makes a good case for that assertion. I hope when I’m 85 that I have the strength to swing a shovel – but I hope I never have to defend myself or anyone else with it.

Leave a Reply

