Never bored with this board game

 

Scrabble!

When I first saw the question about a board game I would never get tired of, I had trouble thinking of one. When my son asks to play a game, I usually try to think of one we haven’t played in a while. Most of them are moderately entertaining, but not something I want to play frequently.

I thought of LIFE, Clue, Trouble, and the various other board games in our “gaming room” in the basement (including a few Al and I made up together). I looked at answers other people had given – checkers, chess, Monopoly. (How could someone not get tired of Monopoly?)

Then as I was walking out the door on my way to work I suddenly thought of Scrabble. Oh yes, Scrabble is a board game, isn’t it? I can’t remember the last time I played Scrabble on an actual gameboard instead of a computer screen.

I log on to Facebook at least once a day, usually more, to see if it’s my turn in Scrabble or Words with Friends (similar to Scrabble though not quite as good in my opinion). And sometimes my husband and I play Scrabble (which is also a standalone application) on his computer.

I would probably play it more often if it were loaded on my computer, though I don’t find it as fun to play against the computer as against another person. There’s no one to exclaim to over lousy letter choices or the fact that the built-in dictionary doesn’t allow a perfectly good word, or to suggest good words to (my husband and I regularly offer each other suggestions).

Back when I lived in the Philadelphia area, I had a friend who would occasionally invite me over for dinner and Scrabble (and sometimes to help her with her computer). Those were fun evenings. Playing on a computer is just not the same, though online Scrabble is better than a lot of the other games out there.

Scrabble was the one board game that my mother was willing to play, as I remember. She had no use for activities that were purely for entertainment, but Scrabble was educational. She didn’t care if she won, she just wanted to learn new words.

All in all I prefer to win than to lose, but the main thing I like about Scrabble is the game itself. I love word puzzles of any kind. (I amazed myself by finally managing to finish the acrostic from Saturday’s Wall Street Journal last night, after four days of struggling with it.) And Scrabble is a great word puzzle.

If you like Scrabble and you’re on Facebook, let’s play!

Powered by Plinky

3 Responses to Never bored with this board game

  1. bibliopirate says:

    Such a great game!
    I saw a great picture of a scrabble game on Jasper Fforde’s website. http://www.jasperfforde.com/dalmation.html

  2. Peter L says:

    I love Scrabble as well. But I am not on Facebook and don’t plan on it. So, enjoy the game with your husband and I’ll continue playing the old shareware version I got way back when. It has a dictionary one can add to, and I have added a lot of technological and slang terms that have been added at dictionary.com since I started with this game about 10 years ago. Unfortunately, it is not usable on Windows 7, so I am running out of computers that can play it.

  3. Pauline says:

    I used to play a shareware Scrabble-like game called Literati Lite. I forget why I stopped playing it, whether there were technical problems or I just got more interested in other games (Pandora’s Box, Mahjongg).

Leave a Reply

