What’s your favorite hard-to-find food?

I read with some interest and amusement an article in Wednesday’s Wall Street Journal about the lengths people will go to, to get more of their favorite foods. I can understand people using the Edge Brownie Pan if they prefer corner pieces (though personally I prefer the gooey center pieces). Buying bags of Lucky Charms style marshmallows, though? Or scooping out a bagel? (The “innards” are the best part.)

We all probably have those favorite foods we wish we could have more of, though. I couldn’t think at first what mine might be, since the foods I miss are mostly those that I got to enjoy when I lived in Spain. I know I could get them via the internet if I were willing to pay high prices for both the food and the shipping, but I don’t miss them that much.

At one time I would have been thrilled to find a supplier of Wise Cheez Waffies, which I loved as a child. I did find a package of them somewhere, a few years ago, and discovered that they just don’t seem as heavenly as they did a few decades ago. I still enjoy Habitant French-Canadian Pea Soup (I bought a can or two last time I did grocery shopping in Michigan), but I’m not willing to pay $2.79 for a 14-oz. can.

One thing I might be willing to pay for, just to see if they are still as good as I remember, would be Callard & Bowser’s toffees, but even the internet suppliers of hard-to-find foods don’t seem to have them. I used to just love the licorice and coffee toffee varieties, as well as their (non-toffee) butterscotch candies. I wonder if these Dutch licorice caramels might be as good.

What favorite foods do you wish were more easily available?

4 Responses to What’s your favorite hard-to-find food?

  1. Karen O says:

    The store sections of Cracker Barrel restaurants are a good place to find many hard-to-find candies.

    I agree with you about the chewy center brownies. 🙂

  2. Margaret says:

    Happy Birthday Pauline! A milestone birthday. As someone who has known you all your life, I can say that I’m glad I’m your sister. Many happy birthdays more! Margaret

  3. Margaret says:

    Those Dutch licorice caramels do look similar to Callard & Bowser. If you get some, let me know if they are as good. I miss Bo-No-Mo turkish taffy, but I don’t think it has been made for a long time. One food I like is homemade chocolate steamed pudding. Since I kept the aluminum double boiler (a bit beat up but still works), I can still have this food whenever I want to make it.

Leave a Reply

