Discover your SELF

I was using our corporate intranet this morning to look for contact info for another department, when I came across a link to the SELF quiz. It says it is a “fun, quick assessment of people’s interaction styles,” so I decided to give it a try. Since the department site that I started from provided a graphic related to these styles, I was pretty sure I knew where I’d end up. But I thought I might learn something in the process.

I was not at all surprised to find out, when I got my results, that I am a Factual. What did surprise me somewhat was how well the descriptions of a Factual match me. I don’t know if that is because this is such a good model of how people behave, or if I happen to fit the model better than a lot of people would.

I also found some of the other information (provided with the results) very helpful. It tells how work well with people of the different types – what to expect, what to do, and what not to do. Based on this, I am guessing that the supervisor I reported to until just recently would be considered an Efficient, and it explains some of the behavior that I found difficult to adjust to. (This link goes to a copy of this information – not my own results but those for someone similar, that I happened to find online.)

I also found a blog post by someone who took the quiz and turned out to be an Efficient. He also shows what characters from the Muppets illustrate each style. Hmm, am I really like Beaker?

This afternoon, I happened to meet someone from the department that had a training seminar on this topic and made the link available to the SELF quiz. She said that people found that the descriptions that came with their results “fit them to a T.”

If you take the quiz, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

