How I’d Like to Change the World

I used to want to change the world by writing great books. The more great literature I read, the more I realized how rare is that talent that produces books of truly lasting value. I still would like to write a book someday, but I don’t expect it to be anything world-changing.

My own life has been changed by people who took the time and who cared enough to give me encouragement, advice, and above all a good example to follow. There are books I’ve read that have influenced how I think, but none had nearly as much influence on me as people I have known well.

This made me realize that while I’m unlikely to have any great impact on the world as a whole, I can profoundly influence a few people. My greatest influence is likely to be on my sons, who in turn can have an impact on other people. I don’t know if either of them will do anything particularly world-changing, but if they grow up as men of good character who use their gifts to serve others, I will have made some small corners of the world a better place.

And so far, I’d say they’re turning out pretty well.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

