Blogging a thousand

I haven’t been keeping count, but according to WordPress, this is my one thousandth blog post. (It doesn’t seem like I’ve written that many, but I know I can go look at the whole list of them if I want to be convinced.) There’s nothing all that special about it being the thousandth post, but as long as it is, I thought I might as well write about the number 1000.

Have you wondered why we use both M and K to represent 1000?

M comes from the Latin word mille, meaning one thousand. We use it in words such as millennium and millipede.
K comes from the Greek word khilioi, which also means one thousand. We use it in words such as kilogram and kilometer.

Speaking of millipedes, does a millipede really have a thousand legs?

I’ve seen a number of different estimates, but all of them agree that no species of millipede has 1000 legs. One rare species does have up to 750 legs, but most have far fewer.

Do you know…

Whose face appeared on the thousand dollar bill? Why was it removed from circulation?

Who said “A picture is worth a thousand words“?

I originally planned to write a post with 1000 words, but I had trouble finding enough interesting trivia about 1000. So instead this is 1000 characters (not counting spaces).

7 Responses to Blogging a thousand

  1. modestypress says:

    Thinking about other references to a thousand, I came across a truly horrific reference which apparently is based on fact. I am sparing you the details.

  2. Karen O says:

    Well, Random, now you have my curiosity piqued.

  3. modestypress says:

    OK, Karen. Pauline don’t read the next comment.

  4. modestypress says:

    There is an expression, “Death of a thousand cuts.” It’s not just an expression. It originates from an ancient Chinese method of execution and torture, which literally involved slicing a person a thousand times. Of course, every major religious and cultural group (including Christians–Catholics and Protestants) has a shameful history of torture and murder.

    Human beings are a not very attractive species. We are trying to evolve into something better, but I am not holding my breath.

  5. Karen O says:

    Oh, I see. Thanks for the explanation, gruesome though it was. As an avid reader & lover of history, I have come across various descriptions of tortures. “Man’s inhumanity to man” seems to be a bottomless pit of depravity.

  6. Peter L says:

    Without following your link, I believe that Salmon P. Chase was on the $1000 bill.

    And congratulations on #1000. That’s a lot better than getting post #100 on a Whirled Views thread.

Leave a Reply

