Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

I haven’t reviewed any of the previous Harry Potter movies, even those I’ve watched since I started this blog. I always had mixed feelings about the movies – they’re entertaining, sometimes moving, and they tell (more or less) the same story as the books. They leave out so much, though, as movies always do.

I figured I’d do a review at the end of the series, though, and now here it is. We watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 this evening at the IMAX theater, in 3D. It’s very good, for the most part – as long as you don’t compare it too much to the book.

The 3D adds something to the movie, but I’m not sure how much. I’m glad we didn’t pay as much as I thought we were going to have to – for some reason we only had to pay for two tickets for the four of us. The 3D does give a feeling of being right there. But many scenes seemed very blurry except for the characters at the focus of the scene. I don’t know if this was due to the 3D, or if the 2D version was like this also. But I found it rather disconcerting.

For a large part of the movie I thought it was a reasonably good adventure movie but nothing memorable. I was disappointed in the scenes where Harry saw Severus Snapes’ memories – they didn’t really seem to convey Snapes’ feelings all that well. But once Harry had realized that he was the seventh horcrux and that he had to die in order for Voldemort to be defeated, the movie really had me.

I had read someone else’s comments on the movie, who saw it weeks ago, and how he get teary-eyed at this point in the movie. I didn’t expect to – I don’t get teary-eyed much, and in this case I knew how the movie would end. Why should I cry when Harry is walking – willingly – to his death? But I found myself wiping tears off my cheeks anyway.

I read book 7 back when it first came out (within a few weeks of its release date, anyway – I think I had to wait for Jon and Zach to finish it first), but I hadn’t reread it since. So I couldn’t easily spot the differences from the book as Zach did. And that probably allowed me to appreciate the movie more than I otherwise would.

If you haven’t read the books, read them. It’s a great story. Full of imagination and adventure, and the timeless themes of love, loyalty, and sacrifice. Sometimes the main characters act foolishly – but then they are teenagers. And they do grow up, as this last movie shows.

Leave a Reply

