What an IDEA

This evening my husband was looking for possible meanings for the acronym LED. All he was finding in his google searches was the best known definition, light emitting diode. I knew from previous searches of that nature that there was a website dedicated to such definitions, and all I had to do was google LED acronym. I easily provided him with more examples than he could use for tomorrow’s sermon on LED: Life Enhancing Discipleship.

While I was there, I just had to check out a couple humor-related links. This “news” isn’t news anymore (it was posted in 2006), but it’s still amusing. Then there’s the Systematic Buzz Phrase Projector, which illustrates just how easily people can be made to think that something meaningless is important if you use the right words.

For word-lovers like me, acronyms are a treasure trove of mental stimulation and entertainment. A Wall Street Journal article about Acronym Finder highlights a few examples:

  • WIMPS: weakly interactive massive particles
  • BLOAT: Bacon, Lettuce, Onion, Avocado, & Tomato Sandwich (mmm, sounds good)
  • AWESOME: Angina with Extremely Serious Operative Mortality Evaluation

But my favorite is the blog entry explaining TWAIN, a bit of computer technology that looks like an acronym but isn’t. (I’d seen references to TWAIN a number of times when I was working on computers, and wondered what it meant. Now I know.)

As to the title of this blog post, IDEA stands for

  • Industrial Design Excellence Awards
  • Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 1990
  • International Dance Exercise Association
  • Internet Design, Engineering, and Analysis
  • Institute for Democratic Education in America

among many others. But I created my own: Imaginatively Defined and Entertaining Acronym.

Leave a Reply

