Going batty

Check out the picture of this woolly bat. Doesn’t he (she?) look kind of cute? Not that I’d really want one for a pet, as it would drive the dog nuts. Besides, despite the cobwebs that I really need to clean off the basement ceilings, I don’t know if we really have enough spiders to keep this little bat from going hungry.

I couldn’t help thinking of a friend of mine who is terribly afraid of spiders, though. I wonder what she’d think of having some woolly bats around to keep the spider population down. (Of course, if there weren’t so many spiders, what would happen to all the insects that the spiders eat?)

As far as I can remember, I’ve never encountered a bat. For all I know, I could have come near some, but didn’t notice in the dark (and with their ability to echolocate, it’s pretty hard to just bump into one). I do remember one zoo or museum that had a bat exhibit, but of course it had to be in the dark (they used some kind of non-white light, maybe infrared, so they we could see them), so I can see why there are not more such exhibits.

I suppose I find them interesting in part just because I have had such little exposure to them. I’ve seen the usual zoo animals and farm animals dozens of times. I’ve seen insect collections (including live insects), reptile collections, and various sea animals. But I have to go to the internet to see a bat collection.

4 Responses to Going batty

  1. Karen O says:

    We had bats in our attic – lots of bats. We hired a company that gets rid of bats in such a way that doesn’t kill them.

    They put up something that allowed the bats to leave, but they couldn’t come back in. After a couple weeks, by which time all the bats should have left, they sealed the areas the bats were using to enter the attic.

    Note: When cleaning up bat guana, wear a mask as the guana can make one ill.

  2. Margaret says:

    I hope I never have to clean up bat (or other) guano. I seem to remember there being bats at Eagle Camp, but not close up. I saw one closer up at Word of Life (Island, I think), but Pauline was not there at the time. I did get a good look at vampire bats in the zoo, illuminated by infrared light or whatever it was, and drinking blood out of a shallow bowl (their lunch). I found them sort of morbidly fascinating.

  3. Peter L says:

    Bats are our friends, as they eat a lot of insects (like 3000 mosquitos per night) and help pollinate fields. I am glad Karen did not have the bats killed.

    That said, they belong in caves and trees, not basements and attics.

  4. Pauline says:

    Yesterday at the office, I was sitting at the computer (at the front desk where I sit now), and suddenly something came flying over the wall of the cubicles behind me. It flew to the wall by the front door, and I was just about to exclaim something about the bird in the lobby when it landed on the wall and hung there.

    At that moment, four co-workers came rushing around the corner, two carrying small plastic trash cans. The bat started flying around again, and one of them somehow managed to scoop it out of the air into his trash can, then he kept making loops with the trash can so the bat couldn’t fly out until he had gotten out both sets of doors to the outside.

    I found out later it had been found on a wall next to a filing cabinet, way at the other end of the department. Quite an interesting distraction during an otherwise uneventful afternoon.

Leave a Reply

