Thoughts worth reading

I hope my own thoughts are worth reading, at least most of the time, but the ones I had in mind when I wrote the title of this post are at First Thoughts. A commenter at WorldMagBlog offered the link as a place for more substantive articles and discussion than is usually found at WMB these days. I checked it out, and I can see I’ll be spending quite a bit of time there.

First Thoughts is only one of several blogs linked to at First Things, which is the online presence of the print publication (of the same name) founded by Richard John Neuhaus. I have occasionally read articles there, but hadn’t been aware of the blogs. Only some of the articles from the print edition are available free online; after reading most of them for the current issue, I’m seriously thinking about getting a subscription (at least to the online version).

These are the kind of thought-provoking articles I want to spend my time reading and thinking about. They cover a wide range of topics, including some that I would not have thought to learn about otherwise. Just the thing for a “perennial student” like me.

5 Responses to Thoughts worth reading

  1. Joe Carter says:

    A commenter at WorldMagBlog offered the link as a place for more substantive articles and discussion than is usually found at WMB these days.

    Do you remember which post that was on? (I used to be the online editor at WorldMagBlog.)

    Oh, and thanks for the kind words. We really appreciate it.

    • Pauline says:

      Joe,
      It was RANTS! and Raves! 07.24, comment #35 from Serious George. I do remember you from WMB (I started reading/commenting there shortly before you became online editor), and it was partly SG’s mention of you (“Joe Carter’s doing a smashup job over there.”) that made me decide to take a good look at First Thoughts.

  2. Karen O says:

    Well, I really don’t need anything more to read, neither online nor on paper, but I think I will check this out anyway.

    BTW, Pauline, not to be pushy, but did you see my comment & question on your 2nd The Pressure’s Off post? I was interested in what your answer might be.

  3. Karen O says:

    Oops.

    I was relying on the e-mail notification of further comments, but it didn’t show up in my e-mail.

    But I see now that you did indeed reply to me, so I’ll go read that now.

Leave a Reply

