Upside down windows

If you had asked me, half an hour ago, what to do if your computer monitor displayed everything upside down, I would have just laughed. What a silly question!

Then my 10-year-old showed me what he was so upset about. The entire display on the monitor was upside down. The Start button was in the upper right hand corner – upside down. All the icons were upside down. Even the mouse pointer arrow was upside down.

If I hadn’t seen it, I wouldn’t have believed it. But there it was, in front of my eyes. And I had absolutely no idea what to do about it. I suggested rebooting, certain that would fix it. After all, that’s the all-purpose solution to so many computer problems.

Guess what? Rebooting didn’t fix it.

Fortunately by then my 18-year-0ld had come home, and he thought he knew how to fix it. One of his friends at school had told him how to turn the display upside down – and back upright again. But his attempts didn’t work. He left a phone message for his friend.

Finally I tried my other all-purpose solution – Google it. And Google found me the answer, which I offer to you, in case you ever turn your display upside down. Fortunately for us, Option One worked. Because turning the monitor upside down would have been annoying, and standing on my head is quite impossible.

5 Responses to Upside down windows

  1. Margaret says:

    I never heard of such a thing. I wonder why they make computers able to do that. I guess they want everything to be possible. Option 4: teach Al to do everything while viewing it upside down. Okay, I guess that is asking a bit much.

    • Pauline says:

      The only reason for it I could think of is if you have a monitor that can be oriented either “landscape” (like most monitors, wider than they are tall) or “portrait.” It’s been years since I’ve seen one of those monitors advertised, so I don’t know if they still make them, but at one time it was considered a selling point. That way if you spent most of your time typing letters, you could see the whole letter at one time on the screen rather than having to page up and down (or zoom out so the letters were too small to see).

      To use a monitor that way, the display would have to be able to be adjusted to turn to one side or the other. And if you’re going to develop the software to make it so the display can be turned sideways, it’s easy enough to make it able to turn upside down.

  2. modestypress says:

    Other possible solutions:

    1. Turn your house upside down.

    2. Live in free fall on a capsule in orbit so you can rotate yourself.

  3. Margaret says:

    ModestyPress, if you turn your house upside down, do you place your computer chair upside down or right side up in front of your monitor?

  4. cindyinsd says:

    Pauline, you have saved me today. I turned on the computer and the monitor display was sideways. Your first solution also worked for me. (ctrl + alt + up arrow key) See, blogging really isn’t a waste of time. Now to call my husband and tease him about this . . . 😉

    Btw, the last two days have been so busy I wasn’t able to get to the post office before closing, but today I will do it first.

    Blessings, Cindy

Leave a Reply

