Box poem

A “square poem” is definitely a challenge to write. I like a challenge, however, so I squared my shoulders and squared off against it. Several times I decided my efforts were going nowhere, I deleted everything I had written and went back to square one. (My first attempt was to write about squares.) Today I started over again, thinking about boxes (which are often square).

Think outside the box. Think inside it too.
Outside the lines, inspiration runs free.
The boundless space allows the mind,
Box-unfettered, to wonder, be,
Think, without constraints – for good or ill.
Inside is found tradition’s legacy.
It guides, corrects, clarifies, helps.
Too free, mind be ill. Legacy helps see.

One Response to Box poem

  1. Margaret says:

    Pauline, you still amaze me. I like it.

Leave a Reply

