Chocolate art

When a link from my ISP’s homepage mentioned a chocolate museum, I thought of something along the lines of the Hershey’s Chocolate World in Hershey, PA. You learn how chocolate is processed, from growing the cacao beans to shaping it into delicious candy bars.

But the Chocolate Dream Park in Beijing isn’t a museum, it’s a theme park. I have no idea if it includes any displays about the making of chocolate, but it will no doubt delight visitors with an incredible display of chocolate artistry. You can see a scale model of the Great Wall of China made out of chocolate. You can see an army of Terra Cotta Warriors – but made out of chocolate, not terra cotta.

The theme park’s website is in Chinese, so I can’t figure out much about other exhibits. But if all the pictures I saw were of objects made of chocolate, they are amazing. What I was hoping to see is what the chocolate sculpting opportunities for visitors would be like. Do they use molds? Carve a block with a knife?

Chocolate sculpture is apparently a rising art form. You can use molds, or you can try freehand sculpture. As this website points out, “In fact, chocolate sculpture is a great art form for amateurs because the medium is inexpensive, and if you mess up, you can always eat the results.”

Based on a lighthearted conversation at WorldMagBlog this week, I’m not a true chocoholic. I prefer oatmeal raisin cookies, and I like my chocolate bars mixed with caramel, nuts, and more. I like vanilla ice cream better than chocolate – though I like it best when it tops a brownie and is covered with hot fudge sauce.

If I went to Beijing, though, I’d certainly want to see the Chocolate Dream Park.

Leave a Reply

