Top ten reasons not to watch the Super Bowl

10. I can feel counter-cultural, because I’m doing something different from what most of the country is doing this evening.

9. Watching the Super Bowl requires large quantities of chips and other snacks.

8. Sunday evening is when I bake bread (using the “friendship bread” recipe). This week it’s chocolate and chocolate raspberry.

7. Wal-Mart doesn’t change their work schedule for Super Bowl; my husband had to get a nap then leave for work.

6. No one set up a Super Bowl pool at the office this year, so I had no reason to care about the score.

5. Did I mention I’m not a football fan?

4. No one invited us to a Super Bowl party.

3. These days you can watch the commercials online after the game, and you can see which had the higher ratings and only watch the good ones. (I liked Google: Parisian Love, Coke: Sleep Walking, and Kia Sorrento: Joy Ride. I didn’t think the Doritos commercials were all that funny.)

2. Without cable, our TV only gets a few channels, with numbers from about 73 to 91. I don’t know what they are or why we get them, but the Super Bowl isn’t on one of them.

1. Not watching it gave me something different to blog about than all the people busy dissecting tonight’s game – and commercials.

2 Responses to Top ten reasons not to watch the Super Bowl

  1. Paul says:

    And go grocery shopping because no one is there!

  2. Karen O says:

    We didn’t watch it, either.

Leave a Reply

