Movies: Knowing

This will be a short review, because it’s hard to say much about the movie without telling too much about the plot.

Knowing is a good movie. I don’t think I’d say, as one viewer does at imdb.com, that it is a fun movie, because it’s serious and dark in some ways. It’s definitely not your typical disaster movie. It’s not non-stop action – I wasn’t on the edge of my chair (I actually managed to mend a long rip in a pair of my husband’s shorts, though it took the whole movie). But I certainly never lost interest.

The premise is certainly interesting – a time capsule containing schoolchildren’s predictions about the future. (I remember doing that – the predictions, not the time capsule – in 1970, and our predictions about the year 2000 were certainly way off.) One girl, instead of drawing a picture, fills her page with numbers. The boy who gets her paper, fifty years later, is intrigued but puzzled. His father, though, is the one who finds the key when he spots the date 9/11/2001.

I knew that much before I saw the movie, and that was the reason for my interest – plus I’ve been impressed by other movies starring Nicholas Cage. Where the movie would go from there I had no idea – and if I had tried to guess, knowing the formulas that Hollywood typically uses, I would have been very wrong.

This isn’t a movie for kids. It deserves its PG-13 rating. It’s very sobering to see the disaster scenes, with so many people killed. (I could hardly believe one comment at imdb.com saying how cool the disaster scenes were.) It’s not a depressing movie, like some I have seen. But it is sobering. I wouldn’t watch it if I were feeling down and wanting to be cheered up.

2 Responses to Movies: Knowing

  1. Margaret Packard says:

    What did you and your classmates think it would be like in 2000?

    • Pauline says:

      I remember we expected flying cars. I seem to remember something about people living under domes, but I’m not sure if that was colonies on the moon, or people on earth having to take refuge from air so polluted as to be unbreathable.

Leave a Reply

