Give Water for Christmas

first giftI’m going to start my Christmas shopping tomorrow. I don’t know yet what I’ll get my family, but I want to give someone in Africa some water. Ten years’ worth of water – clean water that will give life instead of disease and death.

There are a lot of charities competing for donations, all the more so these days with the rough economy, and some people who used to be donors now having to be on the receiving side instead. I try to pick one or two organizations to give to, ones that I’m sure are doing good work with the money entrusted to them. In the past I’ve given mostly to Heifer International, and I still think they’re doing great work.

But I recently learned about Water for Christmas. I happen to know the woman who started it, because we go to the same church. As a matter of fact she’s married to one of the pastors, and I’ve taught three of her sons in the K/1 class (not all at the same time – there’s a year or two between each one). So when the website says that 100% of the money I give goes directly to providing clean water in Africa, I believe it.

You can read her story here, and find out why she and her husband are so passionate about helping children in Africa. And if you’d like to get started with your Christmas shopping tomorrow, join in First Gift, a one day “viral campaign” to get as many people as we can to give $10 tomorrow, enough to give one person ten years’ worth of clean, life-giving water.

One Response to Give Water for Christmas

  1. Pauline says:

    I just got word that First Gift raised over $10,000 in 24 hours. That’s clean water for over 1000 people for 10 years.

Leave a Reply

