The perfect caddy

If you’re looking for advice on your swing or which club to use, you’ll want a different caddy. But if you want a calm companion who easily carries two golf bags, a llama might be just the right caddy for you.

I saw this pictureat nationalgeographic.com, and was intrigued enough to search for more information. The subject naturally lends itself to some journalistic humor. One article asks this question: Golf Etiquette: Must Golfers Tip Llama Caddies? The question is left unanswered, but the article does point out some ways llama caddies are superior to their human counterparts.

The llama caddies have gained points for on-the-course discretion. They don’t tend to roll their eyes when golfers call for mulligans. They don’t snicker and whisper when golfers become teed off over missed swings. Most important, the llamas do not squeal when golfers alter their scorecards.

LlamaWeb is a one place to learn about llama caddies – and just about anything else about llamas you might want to know. Llamas apparently have some other uses that most of us would never have thought of. Guarding sheep, for instance.

I knew, growing up, that llamas were used as pack animals in South America. (One of my favorite books was The Lazy Llamaby Earle Goodenow.) I didn’t know that llamas were raised in this country until I learned of a llama farm in New Jersey (where my husband and I lived from 1990 to 1998). My impression was that the llamas were raised for meat, which has less fat than other red meats.

When we lived in Michigan, I drove past a llama farm every day on my way to work. At the time I assumed it also raised llamas for meat, but now I realize that it may well have specialized in wool and in breeding stock, as many llama farms do. Llamas are purchased to use as pack animals, pets, or show animals. And in North Carolina, as golf caddies.

Llamas are very intelligent, I learned. But I suspect the caddies had some human help in setting up their website. Check it out: llamacaddy.com.

Leave a Reply

