Alone with words

Q: A genie has granted your wish to build your perfect space for reading and writing. What's it like?

A: My perfect space for reading and writing would be a one-room library, a small building (but not a small room) set between a beach on one side and a forest on the other. There would be a small kitchenette and a bathroom in the back of the building so I could spend the whole day there if I so chose.

The books in this library would be from all the usual categories that libraries keep, just not a lot of each kind. I could browse the shelves for a good novel to read, or a volume of poetry. The non-fiction section would have lots about science, history, religion and philosophy, not so much about sports, entertainment, or hobbies. Of course, the books would be all the best of their kind – no need to take up shelf space with poorly written books.

I'd be able to go outside when I got tired of reading or writing, or when I needed to walk and think (walking is a great way to get thoughts going), or just wanted to enjoy some time outdoors enjoying the sights and sounds of nature. But if it were bad weather outside, I could stay inside, sitting by the fireplace or looking out the window (there would need to be some on each side so I would have my choice of views).

There would be heating and air conditioning so I could be comfortable in the summer or winter, plus a fireplace just because that makes the place feel cozy, and windows that could be opened in nice weather to enjoy the fresh air.

I'd have a computer with a fast connection, so I could stay in touch (if I wanted to), so I could look up information on all sorts of subjects, and of course so I could write. (I find that ideas flow much better through a keyboard than a pencil or pen.)

While I think of this as mostly a place to read or write by myself, I would want there to be comfortable seating for at least two, so I could invite someone to join me. It would need to be far enough from towns and major roads that one would be left undisturbed, but not so far that it would be hard to get to.

One question remains, however. Would this genie who would grant my wish to build this place also be able to give me all the time I wanted to use it?

Powered by Plinky

2 Responses to Alone with words

  1. modestypress says:

    As far as I know you have never been to the West Coast. A small town in Oregon called Cannon Beach fits your description pretty well. It might be too liberal for you, but they have a variety of churches and something might be to your taste. Our island has some spots a bit like that, but in general it’s probably way too liberal, though some spots on the North End, where the naval base is sited, might work out. Probably you are going to stay right where you are.

    • Margaret says:

      Hi, Modestypress. I enjoy reading your comments. But you seem to think that people like Pauline would only be happy with like-minded individuals. We were raised in a liberal environment, and I think that as long as she had a variety of books, Pauline would indeed be happy where you are (as long as she could bring her family with her).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

