Garden salad

It’s not a very big salad, but it is all from my square foot garden. Lettuce, spinach, Swiss chard, some beet greens, and a tomato.

I’ve taken a leaf or two at a time to add to my salad a few times in the past couple of weeks, barely noticeable among all the store-bought spinach. (Al and I have tried various packaged salad as well as romaine lettuce, and baby spinach seems to be our mutual favorite salad green.)

But this evening since I was harvesting the first tomato (it will probably be at least two weeks before the next one, from the look of it), I decided to pick as much as I felt I could while still leaving each plant enough leaves to keep thriving. That wasn’t a whole lot – I still added quite a bit of spinach to my bowl after taking the picture, plus some avocado. But it was enough for a nice picture, and I could actually taste my own garden greens at the bottom of the bowl.

I had hoped for more salad greens, but then I don’t know much about the seed varieties I purchased. Perhaps they aren’t expected to grow as big as the ones sold in supermarket produce aisles. My bean plants are certainly growing tall – I can see why a folk story about a fast-growing plant would have featured a beanstalk. No beans yet, though – not that I know quite what they’ll look like when they appear.

Now I just need to be patient and wait a few more weeks for my beets to grow to – I hope – a reasonable size.

2 Responses to Garden salad

  1. How to Grow Cherry Tomatoes from Seed…

    […]Garden salad « Perennial Student[…]…

  2. Karen O says:

    Pretty bowl for your salad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

