And the answer is … WordPress

w-picture

It doesn’t matter what the question is – as you can see, the answer is always WordPress. Don’t you wish standardized tests were always this easy?

In a few weeks, my older son will be taking the SAT, along with thousands of other college-bound seniors. But that wasn’t my inspiration for the photo at the left. I read yesterday that WordPress is having a contest to use the WordPress logo creatively in a photo.

I thought about all kinds of places one sees circles every day. (My son used to have a book on that subject, but I’m sure we gave it away when he outgrew it.) Bowling balls, golf balls, and ping pong balls. Clocks, traffic lights, and wheels. Donuts, peas, and sliced carrots. CD’s, and the LED’s and buttons on my computer and monitor. Pushpins. Doorknobs. Life Savers.

But what kind of picture could I find, or take, that would give me a good place to plug in the WordPress logo? I thought about a traffic light, but the logo comes in blue and black versions, not green, red, or orange. I really liked the idea of one of those machines that has numbered balls for selecting the lottery number – I could superimpose the logo over the winning numbers. But I have no idea where to get such a picture, so I had to come up with a new idea.

And you see what I came up with. As I don’t have Photoshop, I had to use a combination of IrfanView, my favorite tool for resizing pictures and adjusting colors (including removing red-eye), and Microsoft Paint, where I did the actual pasting of the logo over the filled-in circles. Perfectionist that I am, it took several tries to get the two  under the pencil.

But it was fun – much more than filling in circles with a number 2 pencil.

8 Responses to And the answer is … WordPress

  1. Excellent work. I like it very much. It’s very clever.

    I had not read about the contest. I probably won’t try it, but good for you. I hope that you win.

  2. Karen O says:

    Your picture is quite appropriate for you, considering you call yourself Perennial Student.

    Great job.

  3. Congrats on being a finalist! I put in four entries, but none were chosen. Good luck!
    P.S. – I voted for you.

  4. Sarah says:

    Very creative! :)

  5. dkslate says:

    A very clever idea, but so was the other one. It was a hard decision, but I ended up choosing the other one since the entire word was spelled out.

  6. garciavoscar says:

    I agree, that´s right

  7. katargab says:

    Las multiples posibilidades en …
    wordpress !
    v4y !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

